What is the latest SQL Server Service Pack?

I don’t know. But it seems we won’t have as much SPs as once we did. I just read a great article at SSC (short for SqlServerCentral, a great source of research) with this same question. And I agree with them completely: the cumulative update servicing model is ill-suited for server administration.

By installing a lot of smaller updates we will cause more downtime simply to reboot the sql service (or the whole server), even if we disregard testing completely (do NOT patch without testing! this was just an example!).

Read the full article below. Share it, spread the word, because it seems this change will affect MS OS and other products guys/gals too. Maybe we can make a difference.

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Editorial/106564/

cya!

About mauriciorpp

Hi, I am Piccolo - but not the one from Dragon Ball. I'm from a highly competitive and fast-paced world too, the IT industry, and this space will be used to share some challenges I face daily on my career. As you will see, I don't do brawls but I need to be a fighter! Stay tuned.
This entry was posted in SQLServer, Windows and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is the latest SQL Server Service Pack?

Leave a Reply

