Choosing between SSMS Express and SSMS with Advanced Services

So thats it. I could not make a new post for over one week. This is off my target, I want to share something at least once every week. So here we go for some quick posts, and I will do two of them today, because I’ll be unable to blog for another two weeks from now. cya latter folks.

This post subject is: How to choose between SSMS express or the complete one???

SSMS Express:

  • small (180mb)
  • basic querying and configuration
  • great for developers connect to bases and test queries
  • no BIDS
  • no job activity monitor
  • can’t open solutions
  • less chance to have some incompatibility or problem during install

SSMS with Advanced Services (or “complete”):

  • need full sql installation (4gb+)
  • job activity monitor
  • can open solutions
  • BIDS
  • mandatory for DBAs
  • more chance to have problems with installation
About mauriciorpp

Hi, I am Piccolo - but not the one from Dragon Ball. I'm from a highly competitive and fast-paced world too, the IT industry, and this space will be used to share some challenges I face daily on my career. As you will see, I don't do brawls but I need to be a fighter! Stay tuned.
This entry was posted in SQLServer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

