Why “Lonely DBA” ?

Maybe we should start this post by telling what a DBA is, but if you googled any term that would bring you here I believe you already know what it is. After all who likes to talk about SQL, Oracle, and MongoDB (!) without a strong reason to do so?

My reason is a good one: I work with it, and I love being a DBA. About 10 years ago when my career started I didn’t know this is where it would come, but now I’m glad I’m here. The “Lonely” part of the blog tittle is because most of this time I worked alone.

Not literally alone, of course I always was part of a team and had co-workers. But the DBA function nature is that one person will do one thing at a time while administering a database server. If two guys change two settings while in a support call and do not tell each other what they have done, you will have a problem on your server.

Besides that, a single DBA may take care of a large number of db servers, given that the servers are reasonably well organized and maintained. So you will most likely see a team of 3 to 5 DBAs working on a big company, giving support to over 20 developers, a bunch of Network Admins and a countless number of end-users. In smaller companies you may see just one DBA or even no DBA at all – the default installation of Oracle or SQL may be perfectly fine for them.

If you are not a DBA, then reading this link will help you get some clues about it. This blog is also nice to know a little more about Production Life, even though it has not much new posts.

If you are here to fix any problem that are listed on my posts, please feel free to make a comment or send me an email and I’ll be glad to help.  I intend to talk mainly about issues I researched and having feedback would be great to improve on the articles. Contact info is on the About page.

cya,

About mauriciorpp

Hi, I am Piccolo - but not the one from Dragon Ball. I'm from a highly competitive and fast-paced world too, the IT industry, and this space will be used to share some challenges I face daily on my career. As you will see, I don't do brawls but I need to be a fighter! Stay tuned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

